Two horse race at SA Rally Championship finale

The MRF Tyres South Australian Rally Championship will go down to the wire at the Adelaide Hills Rally on 21-23 September.

The fourth and final round of the State Championship promises to be a hard fought battle with just two teams in contention for the top spot and 50 points on offer to the winner.

Also a round of the CAMS Australian Rally Championship, SARC competitors will complete the full event, 17 stages and 873 kilometres, including two passes of the Super Special Stage at The Bend Motorsport Park on Friday evening.

Entries for SARC close on Wednesday 12 September at 8pm. Enter here.

Peter Schey and co-driver Kate Catford hold the upper hand heading into the final event, 29 points clear of Zayne Admiraal and Matthew Heywood.

Admiraal and Heywood are the only team within striking distance of Schey and Catford, with Stuart Bowes an agonising 51 points behind Schey in third.

Schey and Admiraal are a win-a-piece after three SARC rounds – Admiraal took out Rally of the Heartland in his Subaru WRX back in June while Schey claimed the silverware in the inaugural Auto One Port Augusta Rally of the Ranges event in July in his ex-Cody Crocker Asia Pacific Rally Championship WRX STi.

The third round of the SARC, the Copyworld Walky 100, was won by Declan Dwyer and Craig Adams in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI, the pair winning the event for the third time in a row.

Admiraal and Dwyer will run with the ARC field, having also entered the ARC event, along with Jamie Pohlner and Ken Moore in their Subaru Impreza WRX, Dale Cagnery and Mark Dycer in the EVO VI, Nicholas Cagney and Adam Branford in their EVO III and Damien Reed and Guy Tyler in the Nissan Silvia.

Kevin Raedel and Lisi Phillips will also run their Ford Falcon XR6 in the ARC and SARC, hoping to grab enough points in ARC2 to claim their place in the winner-takes-all ARC2 final at Kennards Hire Rally Australia.