Targa battle heating up

The Motorsport Australia Targa Championship has released its official point score after an epic Targa High Country earlier this month.

As a result of last year’s cancellations of Targa Tasmania and Targa High Country, the championship has seen a shift in the season’s order of events, making September’s Targa Great Barrier Reef as the official season opener for a now combined 2020/2021 championship.

With Targa High Country the second round of the season, it means the iconic Targa Tasmania will now be the final round of the season.

Currently leading the outright standings ahead of April’s Targa Tasmania is the winner of the North Queensland based event in Tony Quinn, with the Queenslander also first in the GT Outright class

Having won the first round and placed second in Targa High Country, Quinn has picked up 133 points out of a maximum 140 making him the clear favourite to take out the Modern Outright national gong at the iconic six-day event.

The only crew capable of causing an upset is RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship regulars Luke Anear and Andy Sarandis with the duo 43 points in arrears and requiring a big result in Tasmania to jump the leader.

Melbournian Peter Gluskie and his regular co-driver Samantha Winter currently lead the way in the Classic Outright after steering their 1989 BMW 325i to two solid results, while Mark Griffith and Neil Woolley trail the class leaders by 32 points.

Click here to view the full standings after two rounds. 

With all nine classes still yet to be won, it all comes down to the six-day Targa Tasmania where crews will be tackling more than 600 competitive kilometres across 38 epic stages.

The final round of the 2020/2021 Motorsport Australia Targa Championship takes place all around Tasmania on 19-24 April.

Leaders in other classes after two rounds

Modern Outright
Tony Quinn

Early Modern 2
Bo Williams/Alice McKenzie

Early Modern 4
Dean Lillie/Steve Glenney and Andrew Horn/Sally Coning

GT Outright
Tony Quinn

GT Production
Tommy Monaghan/Alan Stephenson

Classic Handicap
Peter Gluskie/Samantha Winter

Classic GT
Mark Griffith/Neil Woolley.

TSD Trophy
Darryl Marshall/Peter Marshall and Neville Emond/Stephen Jones

GT Sports Trophy
Paolo Buccini/Claire Buccini lead

Thoroughbred Trophy
Tim Hall/Kym Hall and Brett Dillon/Geoffrey Corah