State News: Hoy upstages Brinkman in Yowie thriller

Clayton Hoy has been crowned Phoenix Homes Queensland Yowie Country Rally champion after winning an entertaining battle with 2018 CAMS MTA NSW Rally Championship winner Glenn Brinkman.

Hoy started the stronger of the two, claiming the opening two stages before Brinkman took out the next four, however a poor second stage from the NSW champion left him with a difficult task to catch Hoy.

Brinkman managed to reduce the gap to just four seconds after the sixth stage, but a remarkable seventh stage saw both contenders post the same time.

Behind the wheel 1998 Evo 6, Hoy managed to win the final stage and seal the rally alongside co-driver Alan Stean, while Brinkman and co-driver Harvey Smith settled for a runner-up finish.

Garry Yeomans and Kam Baker comfortably finished the rally in third, the 1997 Evo 5 pilots finishing more than one minute ahead of the fourth placed pairing of Clay and Ella Badenoch.

In what was a sensational performance from the Toyota Celica RA40 1979 drivers, they took out the Classic class as well as being the only non-4WD class crew to finish inside the top-10, the next Classic competitor finishing 11th outright.

While they dominated the Classic class, the Badenochs did not have it easy for fourth outright, eventually overcoming constant pressure from Brayden and Blake Wilson who rounded out the top-five.

Other class winners were 13th placed Neill Woolley and Ryan Williams, the 1998 Excel winners taking out the Up to 1700cc class, while Mark and Carol Fitton claimed the 2101 & Over class.

It was another well-attended rally for the Gold Coast Tweed Motorsporting Club, as 25 cars competed in the Queensland based club’s final rally for the year.

Click here for the full Phoenix Homes Queensland Yowie Country Rally results.