NatCap Points Explained

This weekend’s ARC season opener will run as an endurance round of the RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship, with extra bonus points on offer for the top five crews in Sunday’s new Power Stage.

To be eligible for outright ARC points, crews must cross the finish line on Sunday and finish in the top 20.

While it’s not imperative crews finish every stage and may re-join if they crash throughout the rally, a time penalty of 10 minutes on top of the fastest stage time for all stages they miss, will be applied onto their overall time and may prevent them from finishing in the points paying positions.

The winning crew for the weekend will receive 100 points towards both the driver and co-driver standings, as well as 100 points towards the Manufacturer, while the second and third placed will receive 80 and 70 points respectively.

In the Power Stage, points are also on offer for the top five quickest crews with a maximum of 10 to go to the winner, 6 to second place, 4 to third place, 2 to fourth and 1 point to the crew rounding out the top five in the stage.

The extra bonus points for the Power Stage mean competitors won’t be able to take it easy on the short, final stage to be broadcast on 7plus from 2pm AEST on Sunday. Any team wishing to extract maximum points from this event will have to be pushing until they cross the final flying finish.

The Netier National Capital Rally takes place on 10-11 April in and around the forests of Canberra.

The Power Stage takes place at 2pm AEST on Sunday, 11 April and will be broadcast live on 7plus.

Points for Top 20
1st- 100
2nd- 80
3rd- 70
4th- 62
5th- 56
6th- 52
7th- 48
8th- 44
9th- 40
10th- 36
11th- 32
12th- 28
13th- 24
14th- 20
15th- 16
16th- 12
17th- 8
18th- 6
19th- 4
20th – 2