Legends to be named at Eureka Rush

The Australian Rally Hall of Fame will return in 2019 after a four-year break and a handful of names are set to join the current crop of legendary rally figures.

After hosting three consecutive gala dinners between 2013 and 2015, where 31 of Australia’s most influential rally personalities were recognised for their contributions to the sport, up to five members will be inducted in this year’s event.
Taking place during the Friday evening of the Eureka Rush, 23 August in Ballarat, the 2019 Australian Rally Hall of Fame will take place in Victoria on the eve of the CAMS Australian Rally Championship’s (ARC) fourth round.
Australian Rally Hall of Fame Chair Ross Tapper was thrilled to confirm the 2019 edition of the prestigious event, especially now that it’s incorporated with the ARC.
“The Eureka Rush will be running on the Sunday, so it’s fantastic and very convenient for us to run on the Friday,” Tapper said.
“This should bring people to both the rally and the hall of fame, which means we are anticipating more than 300 people to attend.
“It makes it an exciting weekend when you hook it in with a major event because both events will see an incase in attendance.”
As for the inductees themselves, Tapper believes that in the sport’s history, there will be no shortage of names to be included into future hall of fames, especially when there has already been a vast amount of nominations in the past.
“We always planned to do three in a row during the initial years because otherwise it would have taken too long and we would have been dribbling names out few and far between,” Tapper explained.
“We have 31 inductees now and when you have been running a sport for about 60 years, it’s pretty easy to come up with a number of names who have contributed to our sport.
“When we’re doing it in the initial inductions, we had a list of 100 names, so I don’t think we have missed anybody.
“Ahead of this year’s gala dinner. we are more than happy for people to contact us and send nominations of their own people.”
While the timing of the dinner is highly convenient, the event itself will be fantastic with former rally driver Dean Herridge to MC the evening and British royalty in Alister McRae to be the special guest.
“The night is going to be fantastic,” Tapper added.
“Dean is known within rally circles as a very good MC and will keep the night entertaining.
“Alistair is just really a funny guy and with the history of his family in the sport, I am sure he will have a lot to share during the evening which will be really enjoyable.”
The fourth Australian Rally Hall of Fame will be taking place at the Ballarat Trotting Club on 23 August. Tickets for the event will go on sale early next month.