Canberra to host battle for Mike Bell Trophy

The Mike Bell Trophy multi-club event entry list has been announced with Stuart Collison headlining the 14-strong Tech Workz ACT Regional Rally Series field as part of the Netier National Capital Rally.

Competing on the same roads as the CAMS Australian Rally Championship (ARC) and FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) field, competition is expected to be tight.

Behind the wheel of Subaru WRX Sti, Collison and co-driver Jason Burgemeister will be looking to improve on their third place finish last year.

Datsun 180B pilot Fro (Stephen) Horrobin will be out to extend his lead in the Silver Cup and Clubman competition, while Trevor Stilling and his Nissan Stanza lead the classic class.

The Gold Cup Championship will provide an entertaining battle between Mick Harding, Andrew Penney and 2017 champion Bethany Cullen.

Netier National Capital Rally Event Manager Michael Wallace is expecting big things from the Mike Bell Trophy competitors.

“The classic rally cars are always a crowd pleaser and when you see Mick Harding seeded seventh overall it shows just how fast and competitive the local crews are,” Wallace explained.

“Including club level competitors is an important part of this event and introducing the Mike Bell Trophy is testament to that.

“Many of us wouldn’t be involved in rally if it wasn’t for Mike and we are proud that we are able to honour him in this way.”

The Mike Bell Trophy runs in conjunction with the Netier National Capital Rally with the overall winner to receive the Mike Bell Trophy, while ACT Rally Series awards will also be presented for Gold Cup, Silver Cup, Clubman and Novice classes.

The Netier National Capital Rally is the third round of the CAMS ARC and will take place on the 1-3 June in Canberra.

Click here for more information on the Netier National Capital Rally