Bates awarded top gong

Reigning Motorsport Australia Rally Champion (ARC) Harry Bates’ stellar 2019 season has been further celebrated after he was named as the 2019 Peter Brock Medallist during the Motorsport Australia National Awards Gala Dinner, presented by Burson Auto Parts.

Awarded to a driver for their ability and commitment to the positive endorsement of motorsport within the greater community, Bates was a deserving recipient of the award once won by his father and Australian rally legend Neal Bates.

Having just missed out on the ARC title back in 2018, after winning two of the six rounds, Bates was hungrier than ever to snare that number one title and continue the legacy of the famous name.

The Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia driver eventually claimed the crown as he blitzed the talented ARC field alongside John McCarthy to win every single heat of the championship – making it a year to remember for the Canberra based team.

Bates joins a very exclusive list of drivers to have won the award, including his father Neal, 2017 ARC champion Molly Taylor, Formula 1 legend Mark Webber, Supercars hall of famer Craig Lowndes OAM, four-time Australian Touring Car Champion Jim Richards, Jason Richards and young guns Will Brown and Anton DePasquale.

After receiving his award at the gala dinner, Bates revealed his feelings on winning the prestigious award.