Bates and Taylor on top after comfortable Canberra win

The official points of the Bosch Motorsport Australia Rally Championship (ARC) season opener have been confirmed, with Techworkz Automotive Rally of Canberra winners Harry Bates and Coral Taylor unsurprisingly occupying top spot.

With the opening day of the event being cancelled due to heavy rain and unsafe roads, all attention turned to Sunday’s competition, where full Heat 2 points and Galvaniize Insurance Power Stage bonus points were available.

In what was a dominant display, the reigning champions emerged victorious after six stages to secure the maximum 60 points.

View the full Championship Points via the Subaru Results Hub.

Sitting 18 points adrift are Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia teammates, Lewis Bates and Anthony McLoughlin, who comfortably finished the event ahead of the third placed Alex Rullo and Steve Glenney of IntelliSpatial Fleetcare Racing.

Despite Lewis and McLoughlin finishing second, their fourth place in the Galvaniize Insurance Power Stage see them sit just three points ahead of Rullo and Glenne, who finished third on the stage.

The bonus points also played a part in Scott Pedder and Glenn Macneall finishing the weekend fourth on the standings.

The Pedders Suspension and Brakes duo ended the rally in fifth place behind Eddie Maguire and Zak Brakey, but a second place on the Power Stage saw them leapfrog the Tasmanians to fourth with 34 points respectively.

The event also saw Molly Taylor and Andy Sarandis dominate the Mainfix ARC Production Cup, as they scored a maximum 50 points in the class ahead Michael Harding and James Thornburn, who beat Aidan Peterson and Mitchell Newton to second.

Behind the wheel of their Subaru Impreza WRC, Harding and Thornburn also lead the ARC 4WD Classic Cup as the only drivers to have entered the class.

In the Trenching Systems Australia 2WD Classic Cup, Trevor Stilling and Claire Buccini took out maximum points over the returning Peter Dimmock and Paul Bennett, while reigning class champion David Thompson and Lachlan Nordsvan finished the weekend third.

View the full Championship Points via the Subaru Results Hub.

In other classes, Justin Northage and Scott Muhling celebrated a first place in the ARC 2WD Cup, beating Dave Thomas and Paul Bennett after both crews had a challenging day.

It was a similar story for Jaidyn and Lucy Gluskie, who overcame plenty of adversity to finish ahead of Mitch Garrad and Taylah Murphy in the ARC Junior Cup.

The Bosch Motorsport Australia Rally Championship season continues in Western Australia next month with the famous Forest Rally on 17-19 May.

Photo: CarsMosport