ARC Championship points released after round one

Following on from an epic Netier National Capital Rally, the 2022 RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship standings have been updated.

With the opening round serving as an endurance round, the top 20 crews received points following the event, with winners Harry Bates and John McCarthy enjoying the maximum 100 points.

Unsurprisingly, the duo leads the championship with 106 points having finished second in the EROAD Power Stage, where they received an extra six points.

Taking out the full 10 points in the EROAD Power Stage was Shane van Gisbergen and Glen Weston with the Red Bull Australia crew ending the round on 90 points after receiving 80 for their outright second place.

Finishing third in both the outright event and the EROAD Power Stage was Brendan Reeves and Kate Catford with 74 points, while Taylor Gill and Kim Bessell sit in fourth place a further 12 points off the Hyundai Australia i20N.

Rounding out the top five is Tom Clarke and Ryan Preston, who notched up 56 points for their solid weekend.

In the ARC Cups, Gill claimed a maximum 100 points in the White Wolf Construction ARC Production Cup, 20 ahead of the second placed Timothy Wilkins, who alongside co-driver Jim Gleeson, sit sixth on the outright standings.

Guy Tyler leads Dean Ridge in the Shamrock Haulage ARC 2WD Cup and James Dimmock is top of the Glendun ARC Junior Cup over Molly Spalding.

With the EROAD Power Stage also giving extra points to the fourth and fifth best crews, Lewis Bates and Anthony McLoughlin made amends for their day one crash with two bonus points by finishing fourth in the final stage.

Nathan Quinn and Ray-Winwood Smith also enjoyed some form of redemption, picking up the final point of the EROAD Power Stage.

Click here to view the full standings.

The next round of RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship is the Make Smoking History Forest Rally on 22-23 May.